Tendring v West Mersea Cricket Club TC 1st on Sat 02 Jun 2018 at 13:00
West Mersea Cricket Club Won by 3 wickets

Match report Mersea defeated league leaders Tendring to record their third win of the season on 2nd June, although from a position of relative comfort they very nearly threw it away. In a game reduced to 36 overs, because the captains had discovered a weather forecast that was to bring rain late afternoon, skipper Conway won the toss and elected to field. Once again with only ten players available it was a solid bowling and fielding performance on a wicket that offered variable bounce. Tom Sanderson made the breakthrough on his way to 1 for 16 from seven, before exhaustion took hold and he was removed from the attack. Luke Conway was showing more stamina at the other, bowling a containing spell that returned 2 for 25 from 12. Matt Wilkin, replaced Sanderson and as Tendring upped the attack he cashed in with the first Mersea fivefor of the season, eventually returning 5 for 45. Some lusty blows from the last pairing of Gary Jenno (34no) and Derek Martin (22no), including a last ball six saw the home side close at 137 for 8.
In reply, Mersea made a solid start with 41 from the opening wicket between a watchful Graham Bowers and David Taylor (23). Taylor the first to go strangled down the legside, his wicket brought to the crease Conway who looked intent on wrapping things up quickly, smashing two sixes in a rapid 23, before holing out in the deep. Ali Manhire (15) assisted Bowers in taking the score to 100, and Mersea seemed to be on course as Bowers and Wilkin took the score to 124 with six overs in hand. However, at that point, a run out, or rather a give up, of Bowers for a top score of 38, followed by quick dismissals of Wilkin (13) and Sanderson, saw nervousness in the Mersea dressing room. Allan Highfield, who had changed, having to don his whites again in preparation for a bat. Kevin Hewes and Peter Phillips eased the scores to parity, but when Hewes had a rush of blood trying to hit the last ball of the 35th over for the winning run, it was left to Phillips to secure victory off the first ball of the last over - albeit to a somewhat dubious run, that if the keeper had collected would have a resulted in a run out of Ben Rumble without facing.

Tendring Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
3w 7b 5lb 
for 8 wickets
137 (36.0 overs)
C Parker ct  Bowers b Sanderson 8 19 21 38.10
S Starling ct  Rumble b Conway 14 34 27 2 51.85
C Walters ct  Conway b Wilkin 28 64 46 3 60.87
J Jenno lbw  Conway 4 14 17 23.53
D Flood b  Wilkin 2 14 14 14.29
D Gibson ct  Bowers b Wilkin 1 8 11 9.09
J Head b  Wilkin 7 35 21 33.33
I Robinson b  Wilkin 2 7 5 40.0
G Jenno Not Out  34 37 25 6 136.00
D Martin Not Out  22 21 17 1 1 129.41
L Jenno  

West Mersea Cricket Club TC 1st Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Tom Sanderson7.0016116.002.29
Luke Conway12.0525212.502.08
Allan Highfield11.014559.004.09
Kevin Hewes4.001400.003.50
Ben Rumble2.002500.0012.50

West Mersea Cricket Club TC 1st Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
7w 6b 3lb 
for 7 wickets

(35.1 overs)
Graham Bowers run out  Head 38 119 90 3 42.22 2
David Taylor ct  Parket b Starling 23 38 32 4 71.88
Luke Conway ct  Flood b Starling 23 22 12 2 2 191.67 1
Alistair Manhire ct  Starling b Robinson 15 36 28 2 53.57
Matthew Wilkin b  L Jenno 13 25 17 1 76.47
Tom Sanderson b  Robinson 1 4 3 33.33
Kevin Hewes ct  Parker b L Jenno 3 17 10 30.0
Peter Phillips Not Out  6 19 9 1 66.67
Ben Rumble Not Out  0 1 1
Allan Highfield  
Mersea had ten men  

Tendring Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
G jenno5.011800.003.60
D Martin4.011300.003.25
D Gibson6.002600.004.33
S Starling7.0128214.004.00
I Robinson6.1020210.003.24
J Head4.001600.004.00
L Jenno3.00824.002.67