West Mersea Cricket Club TC 1st v Mildenhall 4th on Sat 12 May 2018 at 13:00
West Mersea Cricket Club Won by 132 runs

Match report A heavy downpour just before start time put the first home game of the season in doubt, with further rain forecast later in the afternoon. An early tea was taken and at around 1.45 the rain stopped, with the wicket fairly hard a prompt start was possible. The captains agreed to reduce the game down to 36 overs per side (nice round number), and with Luke Conway winning the toss Mersea took first knock. Graham Bowers and David Taylor got the islanders off to a solid enough start with a half century opening stand before Taylor was yorked on the second bounce by the leg spinner Ellis for 31. Bowers (27) fell shortly afterwards to the same bowler, and Luke Conway (5) did not hang around long, when a fly got in his eye, and he was bowled. Luke Bruce and Matt Wilkin (23) then went on the offensive with an 84 run partnership for the 4th wicket. Bruce finally succumbed for an excellent 68 from 56 balls, and with some later order cameos from Ben Clarke (15 from 13 balls) - before having to retire injured, and Kevin Hewes 24 from 25 balls Mersea closed at a more than respectable 238 for 6.
A quick turnaround as the clouds started to gather, was then followed by an unbelievable hours play in which the Mersea bowlers, predominantly Conway (12- 4-11-2) and Hewes (12-4-21-1) managed to bowl 26 overs. Ben Rumble (2 for 42) and Matt Wilkin continued the quick bowling rate, as Mersea although only taking five wickets completed a 132 run win, with about ten minutes to spare as the heavens opened for the rest of the evening.

West Mersea Cricket Club TC 1st Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
9nb 11w 10b 3lb 
for 6 wickets
Graham Bowers lbw Ellis 27 55 38 4 71.05
David Taylor b Ellis 31 45 41 5 75.61
Luke Bruce ct Handy b Francis 68 79 56 8 2 121.43 1
Luke Conway b Jones 5 8 4 1 125.00
Matthew Wilkin b Francis 23 51 27 2 85.19
Ben Clarke Retired Not Out  15 18 13 2 115.38
Kevin Hewes Not Out  24 28 25 3 96.00
Alistair Manhire ct Parker b Handy 5 16 11 1 45.45
Peter Phillips Not Out  2 4 3 66.67
Allan Highfield   2
Ben Rumble  

Mildenhall 4th Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
H Parker5.002100.004.20
L Handy8.0128128.003.50
L Ellis6.0054227.009.00
J Jones6.0032132.005.33
C Francis5.0045222.509.00
R Daltry4.003300.008.25
J Howard2.001200.006.00

Mildenhall 4th Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
3nb 2w 3b 1lb 
for 5 wickets
106 (36.0 overs)
A Francis lbw Hewes 11 1
C Cobbald lbw Conway 10
P Thurston ct Highfield b Conway 0
J Jones ct Highfield b Rumble 35 2
C Francis ct Bruce b Rumble 6 1
L Handy Not Out  26 1
L Ellis Not Out  9 1
H Parker  
R Daltry  
J Howard  
M Saunders  

West Mersea Cricket Club TC 1st Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Luke Conway12.041125.500.92
Kevin Hewes12.0421121.001.75
Ben Rumble6.0042221.007.00
Matthew Wilkin6.002800.004.67