West Mersea Cricket Club TC 2nd v Abberton 3rd on Sat 25 Jun 2022 at 1:00pm
West Mersea Cricket Club Lost by 78 runs

Match report It was a case of same old news with another 'L' for the second team, but for the first time in 23 games there was the triumphant call of 'Just one cornetto' as the seconds posted in excess of 100 runs ! Abberton won the toss and batted first posting 256 for 5 from their 40 overs, with opener Callum Newland (68) top scoring. However, it was unbeaten stand of 80 between Samuel Grainger (48no) and Ryan Brooks (48no) in the last ten overs that took the Abberton total pass 200. Five bowlers took a wicket a piece for Mersea, with Chris Warren (1 for 16 from 6) the most impressive.
In reply, Mersea lost both openers with 21 on the board, before the middle order led by Ian Young (58) scoring his 94th fifty for the club, Jin Hall (22) and Seb Gladwell (30) took the team into unchartered waters of passing the century. Chris Warren (9) and Ben Rumble (11) added some useful runs at the end to see Mersea bowled out for 178 and four batting points !
The game marked a 50th appearance for the club for Joe Wyatt.

Abberton 3rd Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
4nb 10w 8b  
for 5 wickets
256 (40.0 overs)
Callum Newland b  J Hall 68 10
Jason Newland lbw  C Warren 4
Charlie Collett b  J Wyatt 1
Rhys Austin ct  C Warren b S Gladwell 30 6
Jack Luckman b  D Common 35 6
Samuel Grainger Not Out  48 4 3
Ryan Brooks Not Out  48 11
Steve Green  
Chris Southernwood  
Nathaniel Evans  
Gregory Campion  

West Mersea Cricket Club TC 2nd Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Joe Wyatt6.0029129.004.83
Chris Warren6.0216116.002.67
Seb Gladwell5.0134134.006.80
Ben Rumble5.003200.006.40
Oliver Wyatt5.002400.004.80
Daniel Common5.0024124.004.80
Ruben Butler4.003400.008.50
Jim Hall4.0055155.0013.75

West Mersea Cricket Club TC 2nd Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 7w 5b 1lb 
for 10 wickets

(37.2 overs)
Tony Butler ct  C Newland b S Grainger 8 17 2 47.06
Joe Wyatt ct  R Brooks b R Austin 5 14 35.71
Ian Young ct  C Newland b C Collett 58 63 11 92.06
Daniel Common b  S Grainger 10 20 2 50.0
Jim Hall b  N Evans 22 15 3 146.67
Seb Gladwell lbw  G Campion 30 44 4 68.18
Oliver Wyatt b  S Green 5 9 1 55.56
Ruben Butler st  R Brooks b C Collett 1 2 50.0
Chris Warren lbw  S Green 9 12 1 75.00 1
Ben Rumble b  S Green 11 10 2 110.0
Graham Pryke Not Out  4 5 1 80.0
A.N. Other  

Abberton 3rd Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Samuel Grainger10.0245222.504.50
Rhys Austin8.0032132.004.00
Nathaniel Evans5.0120120.004.00
Charlie Collett9.0051225.505.67
Gregory Campion3.0023123.007.67
Steve Green2.21130.330.43