West Mersea Cricket Club NECL 1st v West Bergholt on Sun 15 May 2022 at 13:00
West Mersea Cricket Club Lost by 287 runs

Match report The NECL side completed an abysmal weekend for the club, suffering a heavy defeat at home to unbeaten West Bergholt. Fielding first after winning the toss Mersea battled hard against some good batting, with James Rutter and Daniel Miller both taking knocks in the field, they were on occasions fielding with 9 players. A 168 run opening partnership between James Banks and Ed Hance (66) set Bergholt on their way to a big total, Banks going through to complete a century. Jack Montgomery (82no) and Prakesh Kannan (48) continued the onslaught as Bergholt posted 316 for 3. James Rutter, Ben Rumble and Matt Williamson the wicket takers, that at least did see Mersea gain one league point in the weekend.
The reply lasted 14 overs, with only James Rutter (11) making double figures. Mustafa Irshad picked up 4 for 10 from his 4 overs, and Alice Green wrapped up the innings with 3 for 0 from her 3 overs, as Mersea were tumbled out for just 29 and defeat by 287 runs. The game did see Noa Miller make their debut - one to remember !

West Bergholt Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
4nb 5w 3b 1lb 
for 3 wickets
316 (40.0 overs)
James Banks b  J Rutter 105 18 1
Edward Hance b  B Rumble 66 8
Jack Mortgomery Not Out  82 13 1
Prakash Kannan b  M Williamson 48 6 2
Dheeraj Rathee Not Out  2
Joe Smith  
Alice Green  
Owen Jones  
Mustafa Irshad  
Mobeen Minai  

West Mersea Cricket Club NECL 1st Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Joe Wyatt6.002700.004.50
Seb Gladwell4.002900.007.25
Daniel Miller4.003400.008.50
Louis Elson4.003000.007.50
James Rutter7.0056156.008.00
Ben Rumble8.0057157.007.13
John Clarke3.003300.0011.00
India Reilly2.002500.0012.50
Matthew Williamson2.0021121.0010.50

West Mersea Cricket Club NECL 1st Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2w 1lb 
for 8 wickets
James Rutter b  M Irshad 11 17 1 64.71
Louis Elson b  M Irshad 2 6 33.33
Seb Gladwell b  J Smith 0 7 0
Joe Wyatt b  M Irshad 6 10 1 60.0
Ben Rumble ct  E Hance b A Green 7 18 1 38.89
Matthew Williamson b  M Irshad 0 1 0
India Reilly Not Out  0 11 0
John Clarke b  A Green 0 5 0
Noa Miller b  A Green 0 4 0
Daniel Miller  
A.N. Other  

West Bergholt Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Joe Smith4.0111111.002.75
Mustafa Irshad4.001042.502.50
Owen Jones3.02700.002.33
Alice Green2.52030.000.00